You can delete messages on Whatsapp but you better hurry

Whatsapp is rolling out a new feature that lets you take your foot out of your mouth. But you better hurry. Messages must be deleted within 7 minutes and there is no guarantee that the person might not have seen the message by the time you delete it.

To delete a message:

  1. Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.
  2. Tap and hold the message > choose Delete from the menu. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
  3. Tap Delete  > Delete for Everyone.

Whats app offers the following caveats:

  • In order for messages to be successfully deleted for everyone, both you and your recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone.
  • (*) If you or your recipient are not using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone, this feature will not be supported.
  • Recipients may see your message before it’s deleted or if deletion was not successful.
  • You will not be notified if deleting for everyone was not successful.

You can also delete the message just on your device. See the Whatsapp blog post for details

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *