WhatsApp has rolled out its most anticipated “Delete For Everyone” feature update for Android, iOS and Windows Phone versions of the app. It enables users to delete a message that has already been sent, for all people within a conversation.
According to WABetaInfo, this deletion can happen if messages are in text, videos, GIFs, pictures, voice messages, quoted message (feature expected) and status replies. But there is one condition i.e you can only delete messages for everyone within seven minutes after sending and if you fail to do so in time it will mean that the message will stay there as it is. Facebook-owned WhatsApp said in its updated FAQ on Friday that:-
Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone
Although the revoke feature was already available in other popular chat apps like Telegram, Viber, and many more etc. WhatsApp has finally implemented it in its app after the heavy request from its users. But there is one drawback i.e you cannot delete stickers once you sent them which will also be made available very soon in the near future.
How does this feature works and how to use it?
WaBetaInfo, the fan site for WhatsApp explains the working:-
When you delete a message for everyone, your WhatsApp sends a fake copy of the message to the recipient. When the recipient will receive your copy, his device won’t show you the notification and it won’t save it in his chat history, but it will check if there is the ID of the message in the database: if it will find the message, the message will be correctly revoked (if the recipients are using the latest version of WhatsApp)
This is the back-end process whereas, on the front-end, the process is simple. Simply tap and long press the message you want to delete. Tap on the delete icon in the top of the screen. You will see have 3 options now- Delete for Everyone, Delete for Me and Cancel. The Delete for Everyone will delete the message for you and your receiver, the Delete for Me will delete the message only for you and Cancel will simply close the Delete window.
To “revoke” a message on WhatsApp, you simply have to push down on it in the conversation and select the trash can icon from the menu. Then you have to tap on “Delete for everyone” to recall the message. After tapping on that option, the message will disappear on your device and the recipient’s phone. Plus it will be removed from the Notification Center of the recipient as well. Tapping on “Delete for Me” just removes the message from your phone, but does not have any effect on your recipients’ chats. And it’s also worth mentioning that you can “revoke” multiple messages.
When will this update be made available for every WhatsApp users?
WhatsApp has over one billion active users so it is not possible to roll out a feature at once for all. This is a slow roll out. This is the reason why some of your friends may have received it while some may have not. If your phone is compatible with the feature then you will soon receive the update notification. You can also go to your WhatsApp Settings > Chats > Backup and perform it or try reinstalling the chat app. The feature will be available for both desktop and mobile platform. The update is not available for Symbian users for now. Remember, to delete the message successfully both the sender and the recipient must use the latest version of WhatsApp.
Information is also available at wabetainfo.com & indiatoday.intoday.in