Following the footsteps of Snapchat and many other social media apps, WhatsApp added a feature called Status that is quite similar to Snapchat Stories. With WhatsApp Status, you can share photos and videos with all of your contacts, which lasts for up to 24 hours before disappearing automatically.
While this is an exciting feature, one major drawback is the issue of privacy. By sharing a photo or video through WhatsApp Status, everyone who is in your contact can view it. Fortunately, WhatsApp provides an option to limit the people who can view your Status.
If you’re concerned about your privacy when using WhatsApp Status, here’s how to choose the contacts who can view it.
How to Set the Privacy of WhatsApp Status
Step 1: Open WhatsApp on your iPhone.
Step 2: Go to the Settings tab.
Step 3: Tap on Account, and then choose Privacy.
Step 4: Tap on Status.
Step 5: Here you can choose who gets to view your WhatsApp Status. By default, it is set to ‘My Contacts’, which means that all of your contacts can view your Status. You can change this setting to choose the contacts who can view your WhatsApp Status.
From now onwards, whenever you share a photo or video via Status, it will be viewable only by the contacts that you chose. If at any time you wish to change your privacy settings, you can follow the same steps as above and make the required changes.
For more tips and tricks on how to use WhatsApp, read the following article: